There are few things more nervewracking than sending your child to school for the very first time. Fortunately, teachers and staff usually understand the importance of your child’s safety while he or she is away from home. In fact, teachers and staff are legally obligated to ensure your child is safe. Though generally, this is not a problem, there are many instances where teachers fail to live up to the standard of care your child deserves and needs. When this happens, children are oftentimes injured as a result, and if your child is among the wrongly injured, you must consider your legal options going forward. Contact The Wilton Law Firm today to learn more about how we can hold your child’s school accountable for their negligence.
Types of School Liability
New Jersey law requires schools to take various precautions to ensure their students, teachers, and staff are safe at all times. When schools fail to do so and your child is injured, you know where to turn. The Wilton Law Firm has been helping students injured in school-related accidents for 20 years, and we are ready to do the same for you and your child. Some scenarios our firm can handle include:
- Recreational injuries that occur while your child is in gym class, at recess, or while playing a school sport
- Premises liability claims: These often come in the form of slip-and-fall incidents (potentially due to spills left unattended without wet-floor signs), unsafe playground equipment, dangerous water conditions, or even injuries caused by disturbed asbestos in the air
- Claims for intention injuries or if your son or daughter was assaulted by another student or school staff
Some additional examples of injuries and/or harm that can occur on school grounds include:
- Defective classroom furniture breaking or falling on students
- Broken or insufficiently maintained gym or playground equipment causing injury
- Spoiled or tainted cafeteria food leading to food poisoning
- School bus accidents/injuries
- Dehydration or malnourishment
School Liability Limitations
Government entities are notoriously difficult to sue, which is why if your child was injured in a public school accident, you must act swiftly. To sue a public school, you will have to first file a Notice of Claim with the municipality. That being said, though the statute of limitations for personal injury claims in New Jersey is, generally, two years, you will have to file a Notice of Claim in a far shorter window of time. If you fail to do so, you will most likely be barred from suing your child’s public school. That is why, for your child’s sake, you should reach out to our firm today to learn more about the deadlines that may apply to your situation.
Contact a Monmouth County School Liability Attorney
The Wilton Law Firm has over 20 years of experience representing parents and their children who have been wrongly injured on school property. When you reach out to our firm, we can help your child recover compensation to offset some of the physical, emotional, and financial burdens caused by the accident sustained on school grounds due to school negligence. Contact The Wilton Law Firm today for an experienced team of attorneys who will always have your best interests at heart.