If you have lost a loved one due to the negligence of another party, we are so very sorry for your loss. While we know that we can’t change the past and bring your loved one back to you, we can make sure that the negligent parties who caused your family member’s wrongful death are held liable and forced to take responsibility for their careless behavior. If you have lost a loved one as a result of someone else’s negligence, please call the compassionate, experienced wrongful death attorneys at The Wilton Law Firm. For more than 30 years, we’ve represented good people, like you, and worked hard to make sure their rights and interests are protected at the negotiation table and, when necessary, in a courtroom. To discuss your situation with a legal team you can trust, contact The Wilton Law Firm today.
What constitutes a wrongful death?
In legal terms, a wrongful death is caused as a result of someone’s neglect, abuse or carelessness. Further, if it weren’t for this act, the death wouldn’t have occurred. Some circumstances that can cause a wrongful death include the following:
Medical Malpractice, such as delayed or wrong diagnosis of a condition
Who is permitted to bring a wrongful death case?
When someone dies due to wrongful death circumstances, his or her survivors may be entitled to bring a lawsuit to collect compensation on behalf of the deceased party. However, they don’t get to pocket the entire amount of damages won in the lawsuit. Instead, according to New Jersey’s Wrongful Death Act (N.J.S.A. 2A:31-4), any damages recovered from a legal action taken following a wrongful death would be added to the amount of money being dispersed to all dependents. In other words, if you are entitled to 50 percent of the estate, any money gained from a wrongful death lawsuit would be added to the total estate and your claim would be 50 percent of that additional money. Similarly, if you are not named in the will, or otherwise not entitled to a share of the decedent’s estate, you won’t be allowed to keep any of the money collected from a successful wrongful death lawsuit. However, if you can prove you were financially dependent on the person who died, you may have a claim. Speak to a qualified wrongful death lawyer to learn your rights.
New Jersey’s Wrongful Death Statute of Limitations
According to New Jersey law, all claims of wrongful death must be brought within two years of the day the person died. This means there is no time to lose when it comes to speaking with a qualified wrongful death attorney who knows the law and their way around the legal system. At The Wilton Law Firm, we will investigate the circumstances surrounding your loved one’s wrongful death thoroughly. We work with forensic investigators who will leave no stone unturned as we work to prove liability. Then, we will fight for your family’s interests to make sure we collect maximum compensation for your family’s pain and suffering following the untimely loss of your loved one.
Contact a Monmouth County Wrongful Death Attorney
If you have lost a loved one in a wrongful death situation, The Wilton Law Firm invites you to contact us for a free consultation about your potential claim. We can’t bring your loved one back to you, but we can deal with the business of holding the negligent parties responsible for their carelessness while you and your family members mourn your loved one and begin to heal. Contact The Wilton Law Firm to speak with a compassionate lawyer about your wrongful death case today. We put your family first.