Mass transit is a great way to get from place to place. This is especially true when it comes to saving money on gas and helping reduce your carbon footprint. However, like any other form of transportation, accidents are bound to occur. As a result, it is important to know how these accidents happen and what to do if you are injured on mass transit. Read on to learn more about mass transit accidents in New Jersey.
How do train accidents occur?
Train accidents are not very common. However, when these accidents do occur, they can be extremely dangerous. Train accidents are most often a result of:
- Train operator negligence
- Sudden stops or starts
- Train derailment
- Poorly maintained tracks
- Train collisions
- Poor weather conditions such as snow, ice, or heavy fog
How do bus accidents occur?
Buses are typically safe as they travel at relatively low speeds. Unfortunately, buses are subject to the same dangers as any other vehicle on the road. Some of the most common causes of bus accidents include:
- Texting and driving
- Operating the bus while under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- Navigating directions while driving
- Failing to take large blind spots into account
- Negligently changing lanes
- Negligently discharging passengers
- Abrupt stops and starts
- Operating the bus while drowsy or fatigued
- Ignoring all other rules and regulations of the road
What is the statute of limitations?
If you have been injured due to another party’s negligence, you may wish to pursue legal action. In order to do so, you will have to file your claim within a certain amount of time. This deadline is known as a statute of limitations. In New Jersey, the statute of limitations for a personal injury claim is generally two years from the date of the accident. However, mass transit accidents can be more complicated because they may involve a government entity. For example, you may have to take legal action against NJ Transit. If this is the case, you will have to file a Notice of Claims. This will have to be filed within 90 days of the accident. Failing to file with 90 days will likely mean losing your opportunity to recover the compensation you need and deserve to heal. Contact an attorney as soon as possible to avoid missing any important deadlines.
If you have been injured in a mass transit accident in New Jersey, our firm is here to help. Reach out today to discuss your case with a dedicated attorney.
CONTACT OUR FIRM
To learn more about how we can help you after sustaining an injury due to no fault of your own, call the Wilton Law Firm today at 732-275-9555 or contact us online.