Uber Accidents in New Jersey | What You Need to Know

Get A Free Consultation Today!

As COVID-19 restrictions continue to lift and the weather gets warmer, more and more people will be visiting bars and restaurants. Many people who intend to have a few drinks will take an Uber or Lyft to and from their destinations to avoid drinking and driving. Unfortunately, car accidents can happen anywhere at any time, including in an Uber. Read on to learn more about what to do if you are involved in an Uber accident in New Jersey.

What is Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage for car accidents?

Uber/Lyft has its own liability coverage and may compensate injured passengers, but only under circumstances. The coverage is awarded as follows:

  • Period 0: Period 0 is when the driver was not logged into the rideshare app at the time the accident took place. When this happens Uber or Lyft do not provide coverage, as the accident did not happen on their time.
  • Period 1: When the driver is logged in to the app but has not yet accepted a ride, the company will provide liability coverage for an accident that is the driver’s fault. In this case, Uber or Lyft will contribute up to $50,000 per person harmed in the accident, $100,000 in total injury liability per accident, and $25,000 in property damage liability.
  • Period 2: At this point, the Uber/Lyft driver has accepted a trip and is en route to pick up a passenger when the accident occurred. Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage now increases to $1 million.
  • Period 3: For when the passenger is in the Uber/Lyft car at the time of the accident and was injured. Liability coverage goes up to $1 million, plus limited coverage for damage to the driver’s car and uninsured motorists’ coverage.

How Long do I Have to File a Claim?

If you are injured in an Uber accident in New Jersey, it is important to take legal action as soon as possible. This is because there is a strict deadline to which you must adhere. This deadline is known as a statute of limitations. In New Jersey, the statute of limitations is generally two years from the date of the accident. Failing to file within two years will likely mean losing your opportunity to recover compensation. Reach out to an experienced attorney right away to avoid missing important deadlines.

If you or a loved one has been injured in an Uber accident in New Jersey, contact our firm to speak with a skilled personal injury attorney.


Retaining an attorney after an injury-causing accident is the most effective way to ensure that you receive the compensation to which you are legally entitled. To learn more about how we can help you, call the Wilton Law Firm today at 732-275-9555 or send us an email through our online contact form.