There are a number of ways that train accidents can occur in the state of New Jersey. Regardless, these accidents can cause serious injuries and even death. If you or a loved one was injured, do not wait to reach out to our firm to discuss your legal options. Our skilled Monmouth County train accident attorneys can help you.
What are the common causes of train accidents in New Jersey?
Train accidents can happen for any number of reasons. With that being said, the majority of accidents are typically a result of:
- Train operator negligence
- Sudden stops or starts
- Train derailment
- Poorly maintained tracks
- Train collisions
- Poor weather conditions such as snow, ice, or heavy fog
How can I satisfy the burden of proof for my personal injury claim?
If you have been injured in a train accident, it is important to take the following steps:
- Document the scene
- Take pictures and videos of the dangerous conditions that caused your accident to happen
- Acquire witness contacts
- If anyone saw your accident occur, ask for their contact information
- Seek medical attention
- Going to the hospital will provide you with proof of the origin and extent of your injuries
- Contact a personal injury attorney to ensure you have the strongest evidence supporting your claim
If you or a loved one have been hurt in a train accident in the state of New Jersey, you may be able to recover compensation. Give our firm a call today to discuss your case with a skilled and dedicated personal injury attorney.
What is the statute of limitations in New Jersey?
If you were hurt because of another party’s negligence and you would like to seek legal action, you will have to do so within a specific amount of time. This deadline is referred to as a statute of limitations. Typically, in the state of New Jersey, you will have two years from the date of the accident to file your claim. However, train accidents can be more complex. This is because they may involve a government entity. If you are taking legal action against NJ Transit, you will be instructed to file a Notice of Claim. This will inform NJ Transit that you plan to seek legal action. This will have to be filed within 90 days of the accident. In the event that you fail to file within 90 days will likely mean losing your opportunity to recover the compensation you need and deserve to heal. Please give our legal team a call today to avoid missing any of your claim’s important deadlines.
CONTACT OUR FIRM
To learn more about how we can help you after sustaining an injury due to no fault of your own, call the Wilton Law Firm today at 732-275-9555 or contact us online.